Author Topic: Wanted, good news about hearing loss!  (Read 2326 times)

Offline Anita

• View Profile
Wanted, good news about hearing loss!
« on: Sep 18 2012, 01:20 PM »
Hi. I'm new to MD. I was diagnosed one month ago with the symptoms becoming obvious at the end of June. Everywhere I read about the hearing loss which obviously worries me. Is anyone in remission who can tell me that their hearing has been slightly affected but not totally gone ? I read about " hearing loss" and wonder if it means you completely lose you hearing or does it mean partially lose their hearing? Does anyone get away without a hearing aid? Some positive stories of hope wanted if possible! Not too much negativity if poss, Thanks :)

Offline chrissieg

• Trusted member
    • View Profile
Re: Wanted, good news about hearing loss!
« Reply #1 on: Sep 18 2012, 03:30 PM »
Hi Anita and welcome

I am in a period of remission - so far 24 months without a full attack. y struggle with supermarkets etc and have brief woozy moments. I still have tinnitus which is usually bearable as I,ve got used to it . My hearing is only 30% down in the affected ear so currently not affecting me at all, except occasionally I struggle to hear in  a crowded environmenet such as a pub. Ironically though, although your hearing is reduced, you become more sensetive to sound so things like sirens, hand dryers in loos, alarms etc are almost painful to the ear. Still, at the moment, I could have a lot worse the matter so I hope that heartens you somewhat.

Chrissie
Chrissieg

Offline Anita

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sep 18 2012, 08:01 PM »
Thanks Chrissie, that is pleasing to know and I hope I may be the same! How long did you have severe MD for and any ideas what has halted it now? Fingers crossed for you that you stay as you are. Anita :)

Offline harry

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sep 23 2012, 11:35 AM »