Author Topic: Why not more posts about hearing loss?  (Read 5717 times)

Offline Anita

• View Profile
Why not more posts about hearing loss?
« on: Oct 29 2012, 07:53 PM »
I'm new to menieres and this site and I often wonder why more people don't post about hearing loss? For me it's the most worrying thing about menieres and the most annoying, and I worry I will lose hearing in both ears. But for most sufferers the main problem seems to be vertigo. I am lucky so far, my medication seems to help that. Does everyone else just accept poor hearing? It worries me to death! If anyone wants to tell me about their hearing loss I would be grateful! How does everyone cope?

suzygirl

Re: Why not more posts about hearing loss?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 29 2012, 08:40 PM »
I understand your concerns.  I have had fluctuating hearing loss for 8 years.  In the last couple of months I have suffered permanent hearing loss in one ear and muffled hearing in the other.

I was offered hearing aids at my ENT appt.  I am in denial at the moment I suppose.  I lip read conversations but if they say something unexpected I am stuck.  I can't hear my phone yet certain noises hurt my ears.

I will be interested to hear other replies.  It is a serious problem,  one day at a time for me.

Offline Anita

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Oct 29 2012, 09:24 PM »
Thank you Suzie for responding. Lip reading sounds frightening.

suzygirl

« Reply #3 on: Oct 29 2012, 09:32 PM »
Anita, my hubby and best friend are both deaf in one ear, so I amused to the frustrations it brings.   I still get irritated but sometimes it is quite comical.

One day at a time is the only way I can cope.

Offline Vicki

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Oct 30 2012, 02:30 AM »