meniere

Author Topic: balance /walking problems  (Read 7496 times)

Offline smeagal

• Visitor
    • View Profile
balance /walking problems
« on: Nov 23 2005, 02:43 PM »
 :) hi im new to all this
recently diagnosed with md finding life hard
i am having real problems with my balance and walking some days i cant go out and am frightened to go on my own.
shopping is out of the question unless i use a wheel chair
can anyone give me some tips
i would love to just go down the high street and get out and about
tracy

Offline jon

• Trusted member
    • View Profile
    • HNPP UK temp page
Re: balance /walking problems
« Reply #1 on: Nov 23 2005, 03:43 PM »
Welcome to the forum Smeagal. Sorry that you're battling with meniere's right now. There are some veterans ( ;D) here, who I'm sure will be able to give you some tips.
Have you tried using a walking stick? I've heard that it can sometimes be helpful to drag the stick, as much as it is to use it in the usual way. It helps by giving you extra balance/equilibrium cues.

Jon
Tinnitus and deafness left ear 1981 onwards.
Diagnosed with meniere's in 1993.
Retired from work 1995.
HNPP - Hereditary Neuropathy with Pressure Palsy

Offline Fiona

• Trusted member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Nov 23 2005, 04:08 PM »
Hi Tracy,welcome to our group.You will find it hard until you get used to this strange "disease.    I hav ehad it for nearly 40 years and have had to get used to the giddiness,feeling squeamish and other symptoms. I think I am lucky in that I dont have any bad attacks nowand worse symptomsand have learnt to live a quiet life,which is not good if you are young. Is your doctor understanding aboutMD and what medication are you on?  Do you have support at home?I take at least 2-8mg of Serc a day(betahistine or I think betahistidine)   Keep posting and you will get lots of help here
Best wishes   Fiona

Offline jon

• Trusted member
    • View Profile
    • HNPP UK temp page
« Reply #3 on: Nov 23 2005, 09:34 PM »